Posted by

Meet the 2018 Riverside County Champions for Justice

This article was first published September 23, 2018 on the Press-Enterprise.

Staff Report

They have stood up for justice and now they’ll be applauded at the 16th Annual Champions for Justice Awards Banquet.

Eight honorees will be recognized Thursday, Oct. 4, by the Fair Housing Council of Riverside County, Inc.

The award recipients have championed the causes of the poor, disabled, senior citizens, youths and various ethnic groups, the council said in a news release.

The 2018 Champions for Justice honorees are:

Carlos Cortes, a UC Riverside professor emeritus, will be honored at the 2018 Champions for Justice Awards Banquet. (File photo)

Civil Rights: Carlos Cortes, author and UC Riverside professor emeritus

Housing:  Emilio Ramirez, director of the city of Riverside’s Office of Homeless Solutions

Justice: Irma Poole Asberry, Riverside County Superior Court judge

Community: Patricia Jones, Hospice of the Valleys

Community: Robert and Jackie Atwood, Desert Edge Veterans of Foreign Wars

Education: Jeff Kraus, UC Riverside’s director of local government and community relations

Penny Newman, who ran the Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice, will be honored at the 2018 Champions of Justice Awards Banquet. (File photo)

Environmental Justice: Penny Newman, former director of the Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice

Faith: Ali Al Saadoon, Muslim Family Foundation

This year’s Champions on the Rise are the Guardian Scholars at UC Riverside and Riverside Community College District.

The awards dinner is set for the Riverside Convention Center. The reception will begin at 6 p.m. Dinner will be served at 7 p.m. Tickets are $75 per person or $600 for a table of eight.

The housing council fights housing discrimination, mediates landlord/tenant disputes and works to prevent foreclosures.

Reservation information: Richard Lemire, 951-682-6581.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *